Versatile Blogger Award

The plucky, rainbow-centric Maria nominated me for this award last week. A huge thank you to her. I am honoured to be selected from amongst so many potential nominees. 🙂

First, apologies for taking so long to respond. I would say my tardiness was due to the blushing (which it was) but it was more… how can I diplomatically say this… I am not a spotlight hugger… there is no moth DNA in my jeans (crazy wordplay intended). I could never put my name forward for Britain’s Got talent (whether I was pregnant or not!) Saying this I totally respect and admire people who can. People like Maria whose refreshing blog reaches the parts other blogs cannot reach. And that’s the beauty of this award: bringing people together whose paths would not normally cross whereupon we find we have something in common: Love. A love of what we do. A love of who we are or who we can be. A love of reaching out and connecting to people. This is at the heart of what it means to be human. So, stepping off my soapbox, go and check Maria’s blog out, and have a look at some of her eclectic group of followers’ blogs. You won’t be disappointed.

Okay. Right. Knees trembling. I’ve waffled enough. Now it’s time to get down to business 😬

The Versatile Blogger Award was created to feature and recognise blogs that have unique content, high quality of writing, and fantastic photos. As the Versatile Blogger Award states: Honour those bloggers who bring something special to your life whether every day or only now and then.

The rules for nomination are:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate up to 15 bloggers for this award and inform them.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Put the logo of Versatile Blogger in your post, displaying these rules.

Without further ado, here are seven (seven 😱) facts about me:

  1. My favourite film is Die Hard.
  2. My favourite novel is Nothing Lasts Forever by Roderick Thorp (My wife purchased me this book at Christmas to stop me watching the above-mentioned favourite film I think!) Another favourite book is A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole. Purchasing this Pulitzer Prize winning book for the introduction alone is worth it.
  3. As a teenager, I was heavily into superhero comics, right up to my ‘O’ levels, much to the chagrin of my English Language and English Literature teachers.
  4. My first born arrived on the same day Nintendo released their N64 games console. Ever since I have been a Nintendo addict. Thankfully they only release a handful of AAA games per console. Mario Kart anyone… or maybe a battle of Arms?
  5. Aged 21, I abandoned a BSc in Computer Sciences at Portsmouth University to pursue a successful career in software engineering. At the age of 48, I graduated from Northumbria University with an MA in Creative Writing. See, it’s never too late to get an edgukation!
  6. When my sense of humour tumbles during an intense period of proof-reading, I am partial to watching an hilarious video by Weird Al Yankovich called Word Crimes.
  7. A Scralunchinglunk moment for me, has to be when I was confirmed as a Christian in 2014 after a lifetime of looking (and running) the other way.

I hope these facts aren’t too boring, and haven’t turned you off my blogs here as I journey through flash fiction: mine and those whose writers I am discovering and enjoying reading.

Which leads seamlessly into my fifteen (fifteen 😱😱) nominations:

You all write such varied flash fiction stories or poetry or interesting articles about the arts. I thoroughly enjoy reading, liking and commenting on (when I am moved to). I understand some of you do not particularly want to take part in awards and I respect that. I just wanted you to know how much I rate your blogs. Long may you all continue to post them.

13 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. Thanks tons for the nomination! I agree with you that Die Hard is an awesome film, and I intend to check out the books you mentioned– never read any of them. BTW, Die Hard was referenced in a how-to write book I read recently (I of course can’t remember the title). The author used it to show excellent foreshadowing in the little scene where Bruce Willis chats about his nervousness and is advised to take off his shoes and make little fists with his feet to relieve stress. Because of that, he ends up being barefoot most of the movie. What seemed to be a tangential conversation ended up having a huge impact on the story. Now I try to make sure my tangential conversations impact my something somewhere. Thanks to Die Hard. And… thanks for the smile. I’ll post my response soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There are so many script writing tools exemplified in Die Hard a near perfect film technically whose 3 plot flaws for me are not in the novel Nothing Last Forever and the viewpoint in Nothing Lasts Forever is nothing like I expected either. But it works!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, Kelvin, those are some great blogs there. I’m honored by your nomination. Not sure I’m up to accepting–my day is all booked–what with my social anxiety class and the whole hiding-under-my-desk-trembling thing I had planned. But truly–thanks. Very kind of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations Kelvin, and thankyou for nominating me. Regretfully, I shall humbly decline. Not sure why, but that’s me, mainly though, I just don’t feel comfortable with the “Knighthood”, pun, and I’ve learnt over the years, “if it doesn’t feel right, don’t take her to bed”……

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No problem, Ivor, I understand. Sorry if I have… am… embarrassing you. You don’t need this award to continue doing the great job you are doing it was just my little pat on the back to you, which I will continue to do in my comments. Take care, Ivor.

      Like

  4. Whoo hoo! Excellent awardy post! Thank you for the numerous mentions- it was like a Maria advert which is needed, of course.
    Thanks again and big congrats to you.
    I’m a huge superhero fan- would you have guessed? ?

    Like

      1. Not Ms Marvel- she annoys me no end! Of course Wonder Woman – and not in a jumping on the bandwagon way because the film just came out! I genuinely love her! I’ll keep my other faves for an upcoming post. ..

        Like

Leave a Reply

