Friday Fictioneers: This Fairy’s Lights

Photo prompt © Jan Wisoff-Fields

I’m feeling a tad over eager writing my third flash fiction piece for this Friday’s prompt; however, there was something about that complete darkness, and that string of fairy lights that I could not let go of. As I stared and daydreamed, I thought of Lynn Love’s recent bathroom story, and how her character’s viewpoint of lying on the floor created such a memorable story (for me). So I pictured myself in this campsite, on that table, looking at those lights then daydreamed and this story, with its kooky viewpoint, just flew from me. Hope you find it enjoyable.

This Fairy’s Lights by Kelvin M. Knight

One by one the glass bulbs popped as she hopped into them. Wishing harder, she moved faster, along the snaking line, but this night stripped away that usual lightness of her soul. Cursing, she thumped to the ground. Dazed, she stumbled through rivers of sweet wrappers, trying not to shake as this undead blackness gripped her and squeezed all hope from her.

There was an almighty pop.

Now, all that remained were her fears, which fizzed from her heart to her wings. Leaping skyward, she cried like a skylark then buzzed like a humble bee until her soul shone anew.

(100 words)

___

Thank you to everyone for joining in this week (25/08/17), and reading each other’s stories. You don’t have to be a Friday Fictioneer to read our stories so please don’t be shy, there is a mix of styles and storylines all inspired by the same photo.

Thanks, as ever, to Rochelle for hosting Friday Fictioneers so congenially.

21 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: This Fairy’s Lights

  1. You’re quite the overachiever, Kelvin. I’m trying to figure out if this is a story of regeneration of metamorphosis of some sort. I loved your choice of words, especially “undead blackness.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha thanks Roger, I am a legendary under and over achiever!! Yes, you’re right, I hope it’s both, a metamorphic realisation to not spread ourselves too thin… maybe… to stop doubting and just be ourselves (maybe too tenuous?).

      Like

Leave a Reply

