What Pegman Saw in Quebec: A Frozen Soul

This week Pegman takes us to Poisson-Blanc, Quebec, Canada.

Feel free to stroll around the area using the Google street view and grab any picture you choose to include in your post.

Author’s Note: Having experienced Our Light (both with the axe and without it) I meandered around Google Street view until finding the Lodowy HOTEL de Glace, which reminded me of a haunted version of that awesome Eagles song – “Hotel California”. As this week’s Friday Fictioneers had resulted in large collection of haunted stories, I steered my imagination along another path.


A Frozen Soul by Kelvin M. Knight

Snow falling on me. Snow melting into me, passing through me, until… until…

To experience death is to live.

These words come from a shadowy entrance. Shaking my head, I regard flickering flames of ice atop two lampposts.

To know suffering is to embrace life.

Flickering ice flames? I shudder. This snow has finally got to me. I am hallucinating. Yes, these terraced igloos are a mirage, induced by too much snow walking, too much snow talking.

Without hurt, joy is meaningless.

Covering my ears, I grind my teeth.

Without listening there is no hope; without understanding, love has no essence.

‘What?’ I scream. ‘Why!’

All comes from within.

Within the icy flames, yellow warmth flickers for a heartbeat. I gasp. I can no longer feel my heart beat. Falling backwards, I laugh and make a snow angel, larger than the one I am imagining in that entrance.

I hope.

(150 words)


To enjoy stories inspired by the What Pegman Saw prompt or to submit your own one hundred and fifty word story, click the Blue Frog.

For guidelines and rules for the What Pegman Saw weekly writing prompt, visit the home page.

16 thoughts on “What Pegman Saw in Quebec: A Frozen Soul

  1. I liked this story better than the Our Light story until I got to the last sentence: “I laugh and make a snow angel, larger than the one I am imagining in that entrance.” There’s nothing wrong with the sentence but it didn’t seem to fit for me personally with the rest of the story. I hope you don’t take that as a criticism because it’s not meant to be, it’s just that the story is so subjective and I was going somewhere and then the last sentence brought me to something totally different.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Kelvin,

    “You can check out anytime you want, but you can never leave.” (Thanks for the earworm. 😉 ) Mystical piece of writing, sir. How, indeed, does one know true joy without experiencing pain? Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wonder if your post ‘Our light’, and, in particular some of the comments, shed light on this story. Paraphrasing some of the italicized sentences can give some Christian statements. This could perhaps be another manifestation of the Holy Spirit (‘tongues of fire’) on someone who was spiritually nearly dead.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think where there’s hope there’s life and vice versa, and Kelvin we’re 5 days into spring, and it’s still snowing in the ranges here, only 6C today in Geelong, and you’re sending me igloos and more snow, I’m sure if you keep this up, I’m going to be needing your snow Angel very shortly, oh, and your piece was very chilling !!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks mate, by the way, could you do me a favour. I’m entering some of my poems in a local Anthology, and hoping you could pick out six of my poems that you think might make the grade, I’m really not sure what to pick.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No requirements, just poems, and I’ve lost my copy of last year’s book. But I a variety is a good idea. Thanks mate. It’s a Geelong publication, but they get entries from Australia wide.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I may be off base in my interpretation on this one, but I recall hearing that one imagines that they’re warm as they’re freezing to death. So is that what is happening to the narrator?

    Like

Leave a Reply

