Shadows and Sunlight

Prompt: Google maps – The Archbishop’s Seminar


SHADOWS AND SUNLIGHT

by

Kelvin M. Knight

 

Half in sunlight; half in shadow. This was my life. Shadows were good for revealing, sunlight for concealing. These humans thought differently which was fine; I wasn’t here to teach or guide them, and I certainly wasn’t here to be their guardian. My role was simple.

Here I existed, a part of this tree yet apart from this tree, watching this building yet not watching it, and listening, always un-listening. And unlearning. All they knew.

Tendrils of me unravelled. Veil after veil of shadows flowed from me, while rays of sunlight shone to me.

Me, always me. This inverse of humility. Every time I emptied myself, I filled myself. Self-satisfaction and self-righteousness were badges nailed to me. But not to that human hobbling through the door I was to bar with all my shadows and sunlight.

‘Bless you,’ Lowering his hood, he squinted and opened his arms.

(150 words)


Message from Karen Rawson, What Pegman Saw host:

This week Pegman takes us to the middle of the Mediterranean Sea, to the ancient city of Mdina. You’ll find both streetview and photospheres to choose from you. Wander around and find your own photo, or you can use the one supplied in the prompt.

Your mission is simple: write a 150-word poem, story, or essay inspired by the location. Once your piece is polished, share it with others at the Linkup below.

Reading and commenting on others’ stories is part of the fun!

26 thoughts on “Shadows and Sunlight

  1. I’m not sure I understand most of this, but it’s fascinating nonetheless. Interesting worldview, this creature (spirit?) who is unlistening, unlearning, seeing by shadows and concealing in light. I like the image of others “nailing” the badges of honor to it. I thought at first it was the tree, but it clearly says it’s not — although I’m not sure it’s a reliable narrator, so maybe I shouldn’t believe it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, Joy, I am glad you picked up on the unreliable nature aspect of my first person narrator – kudos! As for the viewpoint I wanted Him to be an angel, a fallen angel, but I realise I have made this too vague for you. Which is fine. Fascination is good.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment