Conor’s Lake

Hey, Karen and Josh, thank you for posting one of my favourite places in the Lake District for this week’s What PegmanSaw…Heard…Felt challenge, and for the talented tag. I am still a blushing. I hope all your truly talented and wonderful globetrotting writers find their muse inspired by the beauty and history of this place.

My muse, dear readers, went in a most peculiar direction this week… I hope you all find it enjoyable and worth the couple of minutes it will take you to read.

Many thanks.

Kelvin

 


CONOR’S LAKE

by

Kelvin M. Knight

Watching those shadows from the stone circle reaching for him, Conor wanted to shiver. Shivering was not allowed. He looked at his father pinning his arms. His face was this stone circle. Conor regarded his mother who was covering his mouth with her hands. There was something in her eyes he hadn’t seen before, something sparkling yet wet. Wetness filled his father’s tribes’ voices, as their wails slapped this lake. They then danced around Conor, under these shadows and over them, these shadows which became fingers of darkness.

Something touched Conor, squeezed him, entered him. Stiffening, he saw scales everywhere: blue ones, red ones, silver ones sparkling as they rippled across this water’s blackness. Where the scales pooled, a fish appeared, one big enough to keep them fed for a year.

Limbs thrashing, Conor splashed into the stone circle and slithered to where he saw himself in this his lake.

(150 words)


This week What Pegman Saw took us to Coniston Water, Lake District, England © Google Maps

Other contributors’ stories can be found by clicking the la’al blue froggy button below.

19 thoughts on “Conor’s Lake

  1. quite an action piece – and different from everything I have read today (I am catching up on some blog reading and this was fresh and alive – and a little weird – but so cool too)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey thanks P! That’s the nicest compliment- fresh, alive, weird and cool – my writing in a nutshell – this little flash has spurned a 5000 w story for the BritishFantasy Society annual short story competition deadline today and still writing and pruning and writing and editing. Fingers crossed. Lovely to have you back. I was only think of you the other day.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. oh best wishes on finishing in time – ahhhhh
        deadlines can bring so much out of a writer (at times, eh?)

        and glad I found four words to sum up your writing – and I have been connecting with you for at least a year now some there might be some weight to the description. 🙂

        and nice to have you thinking of me… 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m honored that you shared this treasured place with us at Pegman. Love the imagery and the powerful emotion conveyed in this fantastic story. Also love the picture you chose. What a magical place!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the images of water and fish and the colors of the scales. Somehow I feel as if a huge burden has been bestowed on Connor. I hope he can meet his mother and father’s expectations. (I do believe we chose the same picture…)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aww that’s a shame, Joy. With your fantastical ways I thought you might have seen – but you saw the ritual though so that’s good. 🙂 Thank you for reading and commenting. I’ll get round to reading yours and everyone elses tonight/tomorrow morning- been walking around Buttermere water (Lake District) all day with one of my dogs fundraising for a local charity. Weather has been tropical. Hope you’ve had a gorgeous day too wherever you be. 😎

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe I am just imagining too many possibilities, given all the hints you gave! Glad you’re enjoying a sunny day. It’s been gray here but the sun just came out (at about noon) in time for me to run my errands.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment