Crossroad

Prompt: Google maps – Dominican Republic


CROSSROAD

by

Kelvin M. Knight

He approached the sign with renewed vigour. The ache positively floated from his leg, back and neck muscles. After a lengthy uphill struggle, through corridors blackened by trees, the way the sun burst upon the sign was delightful. He saw not the dust choked letters, the flaking paint, the bubbling rust. He saw something else, felt something else, something beyond the physical.

This crossroad was important. Not walking left into the unknown, nor right into the unknown. Both directions were irrelevant. All that mattered was this wonder.

‘Wherever there’s wonder,’ he mumbled.

That’s why he’d forced himself on this holiday. In search of wonder. And there was such a presence of wonder right here, right now: leaking from that sign, dripping from those trees, rising from this sun-baked soil. Swaying, he grinned at those who’d trekked with him today. Each of their smiles lit a miracle in his heart.

(150 words)


Wonder.jpg


My story was inspired by the above quote from E. B. White and written in response to this week’s (22/01/18) What Pegman Saw writing prompt.


This week Pegman takes us to Haiti’s neighbor, the Dominican Republic, in the central Caribbean. Feel free to use the crazy capture I posted, or find your own photo sphere anywhere within the country’s borders.

Your assignment is to produce 150 words (or less) inspired by this week’s location. Will it be fiction? Essay? Poetry? The only limit is your imagination. After you’ve polished your piece, you can share it with other participants at the link up:

get the InLinkz code

Reading and commenting on others’ stories is part of the fun!

 

21 thoughts on “Crossroad

  1. I like the sentiment. I like the story, which contains some lovely description.
    The ‘message’ from this story seems to be that wonder is purely arbitrary, requiring no special circumstances, but perhaps needing a particular receptive mindset. I wonder how true that is, or rather, how common that particular wonder is? There are many places that can kindle wonder, and they are often the sort of places that you visit on holiday. Why, though, should the sign evoke the wonder?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Dear Penny

        Sorry for the delay, it’s been a busy old day. I could say so much about what I intended, but then I would be telling you what to feel. I am sorry your enjoyment of my story seemed hampered by two questions, your second one of which seems most relevant. I could say, why not a sign? Perhaps it is time a sign was well, a sign. but that would be flippant. I suppose, what I had in mind, was not just related to the sign, but the crossroad, the sun, the trees, the end of an uphill struggle a nexus of these things and more. I am sorry this wasn’t obvious in my prose. I tried to put as many breadcrumbs in as possible for the reader to follow.

        Sincerely

        Kelvin

        Like

  2. Dear Kelvin,

    I think E.B. White was onto something. He had a way of creating wonder in his writing, didn’t he? Love the story. Quite vivid, from the pain coursing through him to the wonder he seeks. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment