THOSE BELLS

The following story was written in response to Rochelle’s FridayFictioneers photo prompt. This week’s PHOTO PROMPT © J Hardy Carroll


THOSE BELLS

by

Kelvin M. Knight

This clock reminded him of that church. The wood was identical to those pews. The carvings were the flourishes on that stonework. And those bells, clanging and clonking whenever, wherever, until Sunday arrived whereupon the bell tower became possessed.

The thought of it made him grind his teeth. The worst part was not the unsettling noise, though, it was the lack of consideration for others. Superiority was typical of that church. So much for humbleness and humility being the flagstones of Christianity.

Seeing that bell rope coiling, snaking, he closed his eyes and concentrated on this gentle hourly tinging.

(99 words)


If you want to read other FridayFictioneers’ stories also based on this prompt, please click the blue frog button below.

Happy reading and commenting!

29 thoughts on “THOSE BELLS

    1. You missed it first time round but got there in the end. Thanks for such an honest comment, Dale. The push and pull of faith influences everyone’s life more than politics does, sometimes, maybe – hedging my bets here – not that I am a gambling man, more a gamboler!!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I felt the narrator had anger and resentment towards the church’s voice but found comfort in the gentle tone of his own clock. I particularly liked the questioning reference to humbleness and humility as the flagstones of Christianity.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Unfortunately I also find this narrative convincing. There are some churches where some members of the congregation act like this. Inevitable, I suppose as it’s an institution composed of human beings and we’re fallible.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I read the “these bells” first and like how you took two ideas and the “these” and the “those” fit well for the way your developed your idea.
    Masterful.

    and here – I just was not sure if I liked the word “tinging” at the end –
    i could not figure out how it should sound
    “inge as in hinge” like
    if then I felt “tingle” come to mind – it was just me I am sure – but went from clank, clonk, and noise to have “tinging” – hmmmmm

    Liked by 1 person

      1. thanks Penny – that is what I thought as well and it just did not sit right – not with clonk clank and noise
        – maybe I wanted thundering or clanging
        HOWEVER
        I went back again and he does have gentle before the hourly and so it can end on a soft “tinging bell sining” note – ha

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great contrast to your other piece, the grinding teeth and agitation clear. However, as a bell-lover, I have to say the bells were there first – he could have moved so as not to hear them.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment